Design Manifesto

To be honest, when I was told that I had to write a “Design Manifesto” I was thinking, what’s that? So before I could actually write anything up, I had to research to get a better understanding of what exactly I needed to do. Here’s what I found:

RESEARCH

The verbal explanation of a design manifesto (as told by Google – Wikipedia) is:

“A manifesto is a published verbal declaration of the intentions, motives, or views of the issuer, be it an individual, group, political party or government. A manifesto usually accepts a previously published opinion or public consensus and/or promotes a new idea with prescriptive notions for carrying out changes the author believes should be made. It often is political or artistic in nature, but may present an individual’s life stance. Manifestos relating to religious belief are generally referred to as creeds. “

So this paired with the fact I had to write one myself about my aims and strategies for this year, I had a slight inkling of what I needed to do but decided a little more research was in order. 

I was told to have a look at Karl Garland’s First Thing’s First Manifesto.

manifestoIt was simply a few paragraphs addressing the role of graphics designers at the time, how it was and how it should be. Nothing too long or too complicated, so I’ll try to do the same. The reason perhaps his was so effective, was that it was straight to the point. No one wants to have to read into something to get the answer or message they are looking for, when it could just be plainly written to the point.

 

MY MANIFESTO 

I haven’t got loads to say, so this will be brief but my biggest aim for this year is to pass all my modules so I actually make it to second year. I know the work load and ethic in University will be different and many people further along in their education/life have said the first year is pretty chilled back but I want to stay on top of things.

I hope that this year I will change my working style so that I don’t just leave everything to last minute and stress myself out, as well as not have as high quality work. I would like to not to compare myself to my peers in the sense that I have confidence in my work and ideas, yet still feel like I can work and discuss with others about the work and not feel intimidated.

Above all, I want to enjoy my course as much as I can. I think keeping on top of things, showing interest and being willing to try new things will help with that process.

Leave a Reply

