Mark Making – First session

Monday 10th October 2016 was my first mark making session day. I’ve studied mark making before of course but I wasn’t entirely sure what aspect of it we would be exploring.

Mark making is a technic I feel that we as students forget is quite important. As a illustrative student the session helped to shed some light on what marking making is used for and how it can be used in my own art.

The session started off with just some observational drawing (of each other) as a warm up – I was happy to just be doing some drawing in Uni to be honest, since as of yet we hadn’t done any. From this we were told to think about what tools we choose to used (a pencil), the strokes we used and how your techniques change with different limitations. Not to mention the fact that different mark making can drastically change ones style and how the approach may be initiated. There was a lot of talk about emotion and how we can convey particular emotions through different strokes and the intensity of our line. I found that mark making can also be a little unpredictable, in the sense that when you’re drawing normally you kind of know what you want to do and how it’s going to turn out. Sometimes, when trying out a new limitation or tool, it gives you a new medium to work with which you may not have anticipated or would have tried otherwise.

img_3323-1
Some of my timed portraits 1. practising with Carbon paper 2. Adding emotion or mood 3. Using only one shape

We then went onto mark making with printing, which was something I hadn’t done as per say. I mean I’d done screen printing before, which was on larger scale and involved a lot less tools, so this was not only different but rather exciting. With the printing that I had done, you kind of knew the outcome of what you were making. With this process however, with marking making – especially when you had to control the variables yourself – the outcomes were less predictable.

Tools initially used were assotate, ink, rollers and a pen or pencil (depending what we personally preferred). Using a selection of paper with different qualities that effected the outcome of the print. Actually the outcome of the print was effected by a few things, including how much ink you used, how much pressure applied and what tool you used to draw with.

Anyone who studies art knows that you can use anything to mark make because the different textures will give you different effects. This goes from sticks and sponges to paper cut into spikes or random objects with weird shapes.

The end pieces had their good and bad but all together they looked rather interesting. I’m not sure if you can tell there are different people and parts involved but I think you can definitely tell that there are different textures and tools used to create these pieces.

My favourite happened to be two rather ambiguous looking pieces that only gave hints of the face away. The first was used with strips of newspaper covering parts of the paper so ink didn’t touch those parts, so even though I drew the whole face, you only really got to see parts of it. The other print I only drew the centre of her face and a section of her hair, printed in the opposite way. Same person in both prints and I feel you can maybe tell that, almost like having a puzzle and just knowing that a particular piece is part of that puzzle but you don’t know yet.

The brief (I think) says that we have to make a collage out of all the printing we have learnt or used and use it to create an image of someone. There’s a lot more on the brief of course but that’s the main thing I remember and have to think about when it comes to Thursday’s session.

Overall not sure how I am going to tackle the brief or the final piece yet but I reckon a little more printing and experimenting and I might get a better idea.

Leave a Reply

