CS Package Homework/development

Although I understood what a calligram was, I didn’t really know where to start with my own for the William Blake poem. So having the brief with a few people to research was actually helpful for once (I normally hate research and find it doesn’t help me very much, just wastes time that I could be using to create things…).  My favourite in terms of calligrams that I researched, wasn’t actually on the brief, I just some how stumbled upon him – Guillaume Apollinaire. He did lovely little calligrams of his poems, the most recognised one (or the one I saw kept coming up) was the one of the lady in a hat. I have no idea what the poem was about but I’m sure it was a little about a graceful french women since that’s what the image, mixed with the type came off as. His art is simple, black and white and bold, the words flow.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_400f

The other graphic designers/illustrators/typography people I searched and rather liked in a different manner, would be Non-Format. A two people business with lovely imagery, bold, dark and quite modern, I think it reminded me of perhaps a remake of a calligram of  the “London” poem. The images I looked at were white (ish) backgrounds, black and gold lettering, shapes and imagery, all very bold and mysterious.

I say that research has helped but I still didn’t have a clue as to what I wanted (or should be doing) so I just had to wing it and try a few different things till something looked or felt right to use.

I tried generating some ideas but I wasn’t sure it was the look I was trying to go for. I was debating if I wanted colour or a particular palette, etc, I also wasn’t sure style to go for.

I decided to leave it as the next workshop came round and told myself I’d revisit later and that I did. Projects later, I decided to have another look at the brief and see if I could piece together what I needed to do. Giving myself a break and time to refresh allowed me to pick up on things I didn’t notice or understand before. I highlighted the fact I need to choose a perspective – like Hero, Jester, Lover, etc. As well as…

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4011

I was originally torn on choosing between three different perspectives but after jotting down some ideas, I settled on Lover because I guess I liked the idea of romancing something that really wasn’t romantic.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4013

I jotted some ideas for each page and when I was happy went ahead. Here is some of my final pages:

Leave a Reply

